Butler design proposal for multiple repository support

I’ve written up a design proposal for the multiple repository feature in Butler. @ktl has seen it and now I’d appreciate feedback from anyone else who is interested.

The design proposal is here.

The related Jira stories are DM-4625 and DM-4682

Feel free to reply to this topic or email me directly (npease@slac.stanford.edu) with feedback or questions.

Nate, thanks very much for the initial note. I am just beginning to get my nose into this, so these are Naive comments.

1. Do you envision the concept to be all encompassing – i.e are all the data in the Survey Archives in a single “repository”? If so we need to talk pretty seriously with Jason and myself. We think of Archives as being anobject store, with it’s own replication system under-the-sheets. There are also many other concerns I’m sure we will think of – think disaster recovery and all that.

2. More or less apart from concern 1) there are cases where we need to ingest data into the butler Framework. An example is L1 processing, where we will have streams of data from, say a socket, that need to be put into the butler framework so that it can be accessed by the science codes.

3. Is there a definition of “dataset” I don;t understand if LSST has given this a formal meaning, or if this is just the normal use – collection of data. Here I have a lack of understanding of terminology. in DES we have a “unit of data management” that is sued by software, and has a speical meaning, I am wondering if dataset/repostiroes have some sort of formal meaning.

4. I see use of UID and GID. Are these consistent (or better put) sufficently general with the authentication and authorization work being done at NCSA?

Thanks!

Hey Don,

Thanks for the quick & thoughtful feedback.