Machine Learning and Asteroid Detection Research

Hello everyone, my name is Rachel Meyer, and I am a student at Olivet Nazarene University. I have a professor who was an ACEAP Ambassador and who suggested that I should reach out to people who are involved with the LSST, for information within my research field.

I am an engineering student in the honors program, and I am currently working on a research project that has to do with the use of machine learning in astronomy, specifically asteroid detection. This is a two-year project and I started working on it this semester, and I am super excited to continue my research, and I am looking for any information on this topic that anyone would be willing to share. I am planning to use deep learning in my research to detect asteroids, and hopefully in the future I will be able to create my own system to help with the detection of specific asteroids. I was wondering if there were any resources that would be helpful for my research or with the use of machine learning at Vera Rubin, as I understand machine learning will play a large role in analyzing the data that the telescope generates.

If you want to know more about me, some things I do at school involve working at the circulation desk in our library, as well as an operator at our on-campus planetarium. I am also heavily involved in our chapter of SWE and this year I am on the council as the Vice President. I am also on the council for the Honors Student Council as a Co-Chair, which is the program that I am doing my research through. One of my favorite things to do is be a teaching assistant for the astronomy labs at my school, and I really enjoy showing my classmates how to use telescopes and calculate properties about space!

1 Like