Visualizing OpSim output

I started playing with a new way to visualize OpSim runs. Here’s a plot showing how many times a spot in the sky has been observed as a function of time. Normally, we just make Aitoff plots of various values at the end of the survey, but that doesn’t help if one wants to see the time-evolution. Basically, I’ve sacrificed displaying one of the spatial dimensions in favor of time here.

Some of the interesting things you can see:

1. Large blue region at the top = outside the survey.
  2. region around healpix ID 4000 = North Ecliptic Spur. You can see it bumps up seasonally, and stops getting more visits after ~year 3.
  3. The big rainbow is the wide-fast-deep main survey.
  4. You can pick out a few of the deep drilling fields
  5. at the bottom, the South Pole gets observed less and completes early.

My hope is that plots like this might be a better way of doing quick visual Q&A on OpSim runs, rather than wade through lots of sky maps. And of course other things can be computed and presented like this as well (seeing, coadded depth, etc).

Comments welcome.

Can you upload a screen shot? I was trying to make visualizations that look somewhat like this

fig_firstSeason_0.pdf (19.1 KB)

My image should be embedded above now.

It is hard to decide how to include filter information as well…

This is sweet. It does nicely fold the time dimension down, though at the expense of some spatial context (though I guess folks will eventually get used to interpreting where there favourite Healpix tiles are).

One thought: how about showing an Aitoff map coloured by total visit integration beside the timelines axes you show. Then make some lines that go from key features along the right side of the timeline axes to locations on the Aitoff map?

I know this is controversial, but maybe let go of the jet colormap? palettable has lots of sweet colour maps you can use in matplotlib, including a totally flexible cubehelix map.