How do get tract, patch from queryDatasets of calexp

1. How do I get tract information from a queryDatasets?

If I

for data_id in butler.registry.queryDataIds(
    ["tract", "visit", "detector"],
    instrument="LSSTCam-imSim",
    datasets="visitSummary",
    collections=collection,
    where="visit=250874",
):

The results I get back (the detectors for that visit) all have the tract as part of the dataId.

But if I run

for data_ref in butler.registry.queryDatasets(
    datasetType="calexp",
    collections=collection,
    where=f"tract={tract} and skymap='DC2'",
):

the data_ref.dataId don’t have the tract information. And neither of the following provide it:

data_ref.expanded(data_ref.dataId).full
butler.registry.expandDataId(data_ref.dataId).full
  1. What is queryDataIds doing that means that it can associate the tract information? E.g., is it querying a different datasetType?
1 Like

Hi @mwv , I’d like to try and help out (I’m still learning to use the Butler too).

I think the issue stems from the queryDatasets command specifying datasetType as calexp, because tract is not a “key” or “dimension” for the calexp DatasetType. So tract is not expected to be part of the dataId when calexp is specified.

In contrast, the queryDataIds command can be used to query for data IDs independent of any dataset. So I think that’s why it can return the tract to you, but this is where my knowledge becomes incomplete.

This Butler documentation webpage might be useful here:
When should I use each of the query methods/commands?

Perhaps this is a tangential question, I’m not sure what datasets="visitSummary" means – how did you know to specify that? I assume from the presence of instrument="LSSTCam-imSim" that you are using the DP0 data set at the IDF? But "visitSummary" does not appear as one of the DatasetTypes available with the following command:

for x in sorted(registry.queryDatasetTypes()):
    print(x)