Building obs_decam

Hello,

I am new in LSST. I have my LSST stack installed with miniconda. Currently I am trying to install the obs_decam packages so that I can pass images from DECam through the stack. But when I was using scons to build the packages after I setup pipe_tasks, I received the error which is shown below. I’d appreciate it if you can help.

Thank you

Leng

Error:
scons: Reading SConscript files …
EUPS integration: enabled
Checking who built the CC compiler…error: no result
CC is gcc version 4.4.7
Checking for C++11 support
Checking whether the C++ compiler worksno
Checking whether the C++ compiler worksyes
C++11 supported with '-std=c++0x’
Checking for C++ header file tr1/unordered_map… yes
TypeError: can only concatenate list (not “tuple”) to list:
File “home/mleng/miniconda2/opt/lsst/decam/obs_decam/SConstruct”, line 3:
scripts.BasicSConstruct(“obs_decam”, defaultTargets=scripts.DEFAULT_TARGETS + (“decam”,))

See: C++11/14 (gcc 4.8) now the baseline

You need to be using at least GCC 4.8.

Try installing devtoolset-3.

I don’t think that’s the whole story, @timj (though it’s true!). The reported error is:

TypeError: can only concatenate list (not "tuple") to list

and appears to be due to concatenating scripts.DEFAULT_TARGETS (presumably a list) and the tuple ("decam",). This seems to be a change introduced by @rowen rather recently.

This probably needs a ticket and a fix.

I thought the same, but: scripts.DEFAULT_TARGETS has been a tuple since it was introduced by @timj himself back in November of last year: https://github.com/lsst/sconsUtils/commit/39bd372694b9a49ab4cb3e0b15c4378fecd5885a

I am actually confused. I don’t think this stack is current. sconsUtils no longer even works with GCC 4.4 and should fail out immediately. The error above indicates the stack is a few months old.

So we probably need to ask @mbl for more detailed instructions on how-to-reproduce.